Legislative Branch (<u>Congress</u>)

- •ls <u>bicameral</u> = <u>2</u> houses
- •The Legislative Branch's main purpose is <u>to</u> make the laws.



•Is led by the governor of Texas Greg Abbott

 The Executive Branch's main purpose is to enforce & carry out the law



House of Representatives (Congress)

 The House of Representatives has a total amount of <u>150</u> members



House of Representatives (Congress)

Oualifications:
✓ Must be <u>31</u> yrs. old
✓ 2 yrs. as TX resident
✓ 1 yr. in district



House of Representatives (Congress)

Term: 2 year terms

Yearly salary: <u>\$7,200</u>



House of Senate (Congress)

The House of Senate has a total amount of
<u>31</u> members.



House of Senate (Congress)

Oualifications:
✓ Must be <u>26</u> yrs. old
✓ 5 yrs. as TX resident
✓ 1 yr. in district



House of Senate (Congress)

Term: 4 year terms

Yearly salary: <u>\$7,200</u>



Executive Branch (Governor)

Term:

4 year terms

Yearly salary: \$150,000



Executive Branch (Governor)

Powers:

✓ Makes <u>appointments</u> to boards and commissions.

 ✓ Has the power to veto laws

✓Appoints judges



Executive Branch

Qualifications: ✓ Must be <u>30</u> yrs. old **√U.S.** Citizen ✓ Resident of <u>Texas</u> for at least 5 years.



Executive Branch

Other Members:

✓Lt. Governor:
✓Dan Patrick

✓ Attorney General:
 ✓ Ken Paxton

✓ Secretary of State:
 ✓ Carlos Cascos



Judicial Branch

The highest court in Texas is the **Texas Supreme Court**.

The Judicial Branch's purpose is interpret and apply laws.



Judicial Branch # of Justices in Supreme Ct: 9 total Justices Term: 6 Years **Yearly Salary:** \$170,000



Judicial Branch Qualifications: ✓ **35** years old ✓A citizen of Texas ✓Must be licensed to practice **law** ✓Must have practiced law for **10** years.







Texas Constitution

- The Texas Constitution is the <u>highest</u> law in our <u>state</u>, it is subject only to the <u>U.S.</u>
 Constitution & federal laws.
- The current Texas Constitution went into effect in <u>1876</u>
- Texas has had a total of <u>7</u> constitutions dating back to 1827.

